Anzeigen der neuesten Beiträge

Need help SLO 50 clone

• 66 Antworten
  • 28370 Aufrufe

Offline Guile

Need help SLO 50 clone
« am: 10.10.2016 20:00 »
Cloners!
I'm in desperate need of help to save my SLO50 clone project. I don't speak enough German, so I hope English is okay.

I bought a SLO100 clone a while back that is based on the Tube Town pcb and transformers set. It sounds AWESOME. Downside is that it was put together very poorly. It failed on me several times. But still, it sounds BRUTAL \m/ I absolutely LOVE it.

So I decided to build a SLO50 and bought the pcb's from [ADMIN]Werbung entfernt[/ADMIN] and bought the 50 watts transformers [ADMIN]Links entfernt[/ADMIN]

I'm fairly new to making cloned amps (only made a Fender Reverb Deluxe) so it took a long time to make it work. It works now but it sounds bad: flat, shrill, harsh and unforgiving. Not at all like the badly made SLO100 which sounds radically different: very transparent, sparkly with tons of bass without being shrill but with great bite. It sound already great with all the pots at noon. I can't dial in ANY acceptable sound with the newly build SLO.. The middle pot is the most useful for more body, but still no match for the poorly built SLO100.

I checked all the parts and their values and all voltages but can't find an error.
Swapped tubes many times and always biased correctly.
I also compared everying with the SLO100.

Could it be the difference in transformers?

Would love to hear suggestions
Thanks

https://www.flickr.com/photos/115176149@N03/

« Letzte Änderung: 11.10.2016 09:25 von Dirk »

Stone

• Gast
Re: Need help SLO 50 clone
« Antwort #1 am: 10.10.2016 20:14 »
Hi Guile

Sad to hear about your build … :-(

I am using InMadOut transformers, too, and never ever had any trouble with them and also in my opinion the OTs are sounding pretty good. And at least I think Dirks transformers are also IMO or based on them.